Below you will find reviews and testimonials for the attorneys from Bruckheim & Patel.

Michael Bruckheim

Nov 18, 2013

“If you have been charged with a DUI offense, I would urge you to hire Michael Bruckheim. When I was charged with a DUI offense in DC, I called several different attorneys, and got lots of vague answers, contradictory advice, and non-responses to messages I left with secretaries and answering machines. Speaking to Mr. Bruckheim was a huge relief. When you call him, he explains all the steps of the DUI litigation process, your options, and the range of possible outcomes. His explanations are clear and straight-forward. He knows the court personnel, the prosecuting attorneys, many of the judges, and is extremely familiar with the routines and procedures of the local courts. Most importantly, he is extremely good at challenging and casting doubt on government evidence. Over the course of the representation, it became clear to me that Michael Bruckheim has developed a strong reputation, and that his words carry weight with prosecutors and judges. Hiring Michael Bruckheim offers you the best chance of saving time and money in the long run, and getting your life back on track.”

Nov 20, 2013

“I was arrested and charged with my first DUI. I had never been in trouble with the law before and did not know where to turn. I received a postcard from Mr. Bruckheim and did some research to see if I should seek his counsel. I setup a free consultation, and from our first meeting, even though I was extremely nervous, Mr. Bruckheim put me at ease with his friendly manner and evident expertise. Mr. Bruckheim went through his qualifications (which were exceptional), occupation history and extra training he received, and then was plainspoken when he discussed the process through the justice system and the possible outcomes. He did not sugar-coat anything, which I appreciated so that I knew exactly what I could expect.

After accepting his representation, Mr. Bruckheim was extremely responsive anytime I had a question. He kept me informed along the way, got in touch with me when he said he would and displayed a professionalism within the courtroom that obviously garnered respect from the presiding judges and attorneys alike. Saving the best for last, Mr. Bruckheim helped me avoid conviction, and I will always be thankful to him for his assistance in my time of need. I strongly recommend his services to anyone needing outstanding legal representation, especially relating to DUI/DWI infractions.”

Nov 21, 2013

“I was facing felony criminal charges. After consulting with several criminal defense lawyers, I knew Mike was the way to go. He was the most honest about my possible outcomes for the case. Each time we met, it felt like my case was very important to him. Anytime I had a question, he was there to answer it.

The felony charges were dropped to misdemeanor charges, thanks to Mike!
I am very pleased with the service I received from Mike.”

Dec 11, 2013

“I have to say I was horrified about the bureaucratic process of the court system of the District of Columbia. However, Mr. Bruckheim was very professional and helpful. I consulted with a few other lawyers in the DC area but it was not until I met Mr. Bruckheim that I felt I had found the one to take on my case and truly represent me. From the first consultation, he took a whole hour to listen to my facts and took notes. He was very detailed and explained the process thoroughly. Mr. Bruckheim made me aware of everything there was to expect and made sure that things would be handled smoothly. I have to admit that I was very impressed by him from the very beginning”

Dec 30, 2013

“If you’re in a jam and are looking for help, look no further than Michael Bruckheim. I no longer have this awful thing hanging over my head thanks to his professionalism, skills, and expertise. He really knows what he’s doing. There is no one I’d rather have at my side representing me than Michael.”

Apr 15, 2014

“He was very good at communicating with me, via e-mail on the phone and via txt message (which is very practical). He was always willing to answer any questions I had, and even worked with me to the best of his ability on a day when a hearing was scheduled but got snowed out. When it came to the actual arbitration of my case, he was always punctual, prepared, and confident”

Jun 30, 2014

“After getting a DUI charge in DC, I diligently researched/interviewed ~10 lawyers, and even from the get-go, Mr. Bruckheim stood out above the rest. He was extremely personable, easily reachable via text, and above all very knowledgeable. Even in the free consultation, he allowed me all the time in the world to explain the details of my case and ask loads of questions. He laid forth his strategy for how he would attack the case, giving me great confidence. The entire process (arraignment, status, trial, and DMV hearing for refusal to submit alcohol test) was explained well and made easy by Mr. Bruckheim. The rubber really met the road when we got to trial, and I watched Mr. Bruckheim handily defeat the prosecution. His training as a field sobriety test instructor allowed him to effectively identify issues in the way my field sobriety test was issued along with the misdiagnoses the officer made. His performance in the courtroom from opening remarks to cross-examining the officers and closing was truly outstanding, and I was acquitted! Needless to say, I was extremely pleased with my representation and my result. I sincerely put forward my highest recommendation for Mr. Bruckheim!”

Jul 1, 2014

“Hiring a lawyer is not an easy decision to make. If you’re like me, it feels difficult finding someone you trust, let alone represent you in court. After consulting with a few other lawyers, from big firms/names to more boutique style lawyers, I decided to have Michael represent me. Instead trying to talk a big game and use all the lawyer jargon that I noticed other lawyers were doing, he was very open and transparent throughout the whole process, leaving no details out and any surprises to come. He was very honest throughout my whole case. Leading up to my court date, he was very responsive, and was always easily accessible via phone, text and email. Most importantly, his prices were extremely fair. If you’re in need of representation, put your nerves at ease and look no further. Michael will give 110% to win your case. Cannot endorse this guy more!”

Jul 3, 2014

“EXCELLENT lawyer. Walked me through the process step by step and was always there to answer questions. Getting a DUI can be a very humiliating, emotional, horrible experience. Michael is there for his clients not only in the courtroom but for support as well.”

Aug 24, 2014

“Needless to say, I was very stressed out when I was arrested for DUI. I didn’t know what to do or who to call. I knew I needed a lawyer but I didn’t have any idea where to start. I got a recommendation from a friend, and I searched on line. I found a couple highly ranked lawyers who appeared to have good track records with DUIs, including Michael. Long story short, after speaking with five + lawyers I decided to hire Michael. I am glad I did”

Dec 17, 2014

“Mr. Bruckheim is calm, collected, knowledgeable, reassuring, efficient, effective and, most importantly, his advice is clear and his judgment is dead-on. I had legal difficulties in DC, and it was clear that, from clerks through the judge, everyone knew Mr. Bruckheim and respected him (comments such as ‘he is always on time,’ ‘always calls to confirm,’ ‘gets good results for his clients,’ e.g.). Thanks to his expert assistance with the criminal justice system, I didn’t get to see him in trial-mode action! I would and will recommend him without hesitation to anyone in need.”

Dec 18, 2014

“Went to Michael Bruckheim after getting a DUI. I had met with a few lawyers before him, all of whom lacked knowledge (couldn’t answer all of my questions) and charged an arm and a leg. I retained Mr. Bruckheim after I met with him and he was able to answer all of my questions, and charged at least $1000 less than the other lawyers. He was very patient in explaining the process that I would be going through. Every time another question or concern would pop into my head and I texted or emailed him, if he didn’t get back to me within the hour, I had a response by the end of the day. Truthful, knowledgeable, supportive, and extremely amicable. Bonus: he also played all of the cards right so that ultimately, my case was dismissed (!!). I highly recommend this attorney to anyone charged with a DUI/DWI. If I ever get in trouble again (please no, lord) I would definitely retain Mr. Bruckheim again.”

Feb 2, 2015

“Michael Bruckheim is a thorough, knowledgeable and caring lawyer. He gives excellent advise and genuinely demonstrates a caring attitude toward his client. Michael knows how to deliver the optimal results for the client and is well versed and very experienced in the courtroom. His honest and straight forward approach gave me confident in the outcome. He did an outstanding job and I highly recommend him.”

Mar 14, 2015

“I have only the highest praise for Michael Bruckheim and his office staff. We were able to meet with him the next day after we called his office. He has a superb assistant. In our first meeting, he listened carefully and diligently to our concerns regarding an alleged traffic violation. He explained to us our legal rights and while we were at his office, he contacted the concerned parties and informed them that he was representing us and any further communications or contacts concerning our case should be directed to him. This immediately stopped the calls we were receiving from the insurance company. He advised me how to respond to the questions being asked by the insurance comapnies involved in the case and handled all communications with them.
He is professionally competent and highly ethical”

Mar 31, 2015

“Michael has an extensive resume, and is dedicated to strategically utilizing his experience, knowledge of the law, and relationships to negotiate the best possible outcome for you! I am completely confident in his abilities, and I would recommend him to my family and friends if they ever needed representation.

When working with him, he not only kept me informed, but also at ease. He was able to negotiate a great deal for me, although my situation was complicated. I couldn’t have asked for better representation!”

Even More Reviews


For even more client reviews of Mr. Bruckheim visit his Avvo page.

Sweta Patel

In the ever-growing sea of attorneys, Sweta is the beacon you’ll want to find if you’re searching for a lawyer that is tenacious, intelligent and professional. These aren’t just buzzwords for Sweta, these are traits and work ethics she possesses. DC is lucky to have a criminal defense attorney of this caliber!

May 22, 2014

“Sweta provided me a high degree of confidence for success for my case as we worked through the complex and arduous DC court system. She was consistently on top of matters as they developed and communicated with me often during that process. Sweta’s drive for seeking and documenting the truth were demonstrated during trial and greatly assisted in a “not guilty” verdict. I would certainly want her representing me again.”

June 23, 2014

Sweta is a very strong presenter and exhibits a high degree of organization skills.

In addition, to being skilled in the courtroom from her previous Public Defender experience, she’s a dedicated researcher. If your looking for someone who will take the initiative, follow up with context rich communication, and be very hands on with your case then she is the ideal attorney for you.

June 18, 2014

For a Criminal Defense Attorney, Ms. Patel is a rare find.  Personable, insightful, diligent, and compassionate are all traits she possess and brings to her profession. Hopefully you won’t ever need her help, but you’ll be very thankful you did have her on your side if the need should arise.

August 8, 2014

Excellent Defense Attorney!

I was facing a serious allegation in DC, and I shopped around for a good attorney. After speaking with a few attorneys in the area, I settled on the one who paid the most attention to me and walked me through all the potential steps of my case. I was not wrong! I hired Sweta and she did a great job. My charges where dismissed, and It will be able to be expunged. Sweta is a great investment.

September 22, 2014

I would choose no other attorney

I was facing charges in D.C. and turned to Sweta after one of my friends recommended her – great decision. She was one of the most professional attorneys I have ever worked with – well informed and dedicated to my case. Needless to say, the outcome of my case was far better than I had expected.

October 13, 2014

I hired Ms Patel because I needed someone in my corner at the courthouse, shepherding paperwork and talking to all the appropriate people. Now weather my case would have worked out with the same result if I hadn’t hired Sweta, i can’t say. But I’m glad I did anyway. It was money worth spending. I think the main thing that she offered was peace of mind throughout this whole thing. Someone who keeps you informed on what’s going on with your case on a daily basis is invaluable. I found this to be my favorite quality. I wholeheartedly recommend Sweta to anyone having the kind of trouble that this firm specializes in.

November 16, 2014

Excellent Service and Guidance

Ms Patel’s knowledge and experience of the DC court system enabled her to advise me and provide the direction that resulted in the dismissal of my case. She did an excellent job keeping me informed over the nearly four months the case was in process. I’m very grateful for her service and would recommend her highly.

December 19, 2014

I had a ‘Leaving While Colliding’ charge and my car was impounded. Sweta promptly began steps to get my vehicle released and gather any and all information, including, canvassing the neighborhood and interviewing witnesses. I felt comfortable with her and confident that my case was in good hands. In the end, my case was dismissed. I couldn’t have been happier with the outcome, I highly recommend her services.

January 14, 2015

Sweta is the definition of straight-forward business– There’s no messing around with her; she sees a task, she accomplishes it in a concise, efficient manner.

February13, 2015

Ms. Patel represented me in a DUI case on January 15th in the District of Columbia. Needless to say my case was dismissed due to the excellent time and effort that Sweta invested. As we went to trial and I observed Sweta in action I was amazed at how professional, knowledgeable, and fearless she was. She knows the law and is an expert at her craft. If only I could’ve videotaped her in actions during our trial to have everyone observe how dynamic she is and will continue to be.

February 15, 2015

Working with Sweta was an excellent experience. She was effective and efficient in her work. She was always prompt with communication. She kept me informed of every circumstance that could come out of my case and worked extremely hard for the best case scenario. She was confident in her case work and I could tell she thoroughly prepared for each court case – she made me feel as if I was her only client when I knew she had multiple other cases going on! In addition, she was extremely caring and compassionate during this hard time in my life.

April 27, 2014

Kind & Focused!

I’m hard of hearing so I was nervous about having a lawyer that was difficult to understand and to go through the legal process of getting charges dismissed. She made the whole ordeal very easy and smooth for me and communicated quite clear with both myself and the people of the court. I felt very at ease with her and knew that she was focused on me at the time

May 16, 2015

If you are looking for a criminal defense attorney, especially for DUI, then look no further! Sweta Is THE BEST! I was charged with DUI. I had never been involved with the criminal justice system before. I found Sweta on the internet and I really lucked out! She has been responsive, communicating with me every step of the way. She knows the law inside and out. One of her best qualities is that she treated me like a person and not a client. She went to great lengths to schedule court appearances around my schedule and my work. She even arranged it so that I did not have to appear on certain court dates even though she had to go. She treats you with compassion and respect. In addition to all this, she is a gifted attorney who knows her craft inside and out. She stood beside me every step of the way and was able to explain the law and procedures so that I completely understood. Remember her name because she is going places! Like I said, If you need an attorney especially for DUI, and you are considering Sweta, then don’t consider anyone else. You can’t find a better attorney than her. She is simply THE BEST!

May 31, 2015

Leaving After Colliding charge dismissed!

I was not familiar with DC law and found myself facing a criminal charge for an incident. This lawyer explained the process to me and agreed to represent me. She kept me informed, was present at all my court appearances and articulated my case to the prosecution and worked to reach an agreement that was considered fair and reasonable based on the evidence. Even if my case was lost, I would highly recommend her to anyone needing legal representation because of her professionalism and knowledge.

June 8, 2015

Sweta Patel was a great advocate for me through a very stressful experience. Ms. Patel was very helpful, reassuring, and calming. She made sure that I was kept informed throughout the process and explained everything so that I, who has little to no knowledge of the legal system, could understand what was happening. If you need an attorney, I would highly recommend Ms. Patel. She is someone that you would want to have on your side if you find yourself in a position to need an attorney.

June 14, 2015

Ms. Patel is not only smart but very knowledgeable, one of the things I admire the most from her is that she does her homework; During the curse of my case (a Felony Fraud) she closely supervised a detailed investigation to prepare my defense. I believe Ms. Patel loves challenges and she got one hell of paperwork and technicalities to learn and deal during my case. She kept me informed every step of the way and prepared me objectively to every possible outcome. I believe her strategic thinking and preparedness was critical to win over what could have possible been a devastating outcome due to the ill nature of the accusations. Having her as an attorney made a real difference and was the only great of a terrible personal experience, I am so thrilled she was able to work on my case and that it ended on a positive result, considering it was a felony fraud charge that she cleverly got dismissed.

Even More Reviews

For even more client reviews of Ms. Patel visit her Avvo page.